“Broken” by The Devil Wears Prada

These lyrics of “Broken” kinda do a good job of relaying the message that they are intended to. But more discernibly, they center on a vocalist who is obviously dealing with a severe case of depression as well as feeling alienated and highly frustrated. Indeed what the title points to, as shown in the chorus, is the narrator currently having the tendency to break bottles.

You can view the lyrics, alternate interprations and sheet music for The Devil Wears Prada's Broken at Lyrics.org.

But based on the band’s explanation, there’s more to it than that. And what is actually the intent of this piece is to illustrate that yes, the vocalist does, logically speaking, need some type of concern for his life. But at the same time, that is not what he’s looking for externally. In other words, he has no actual desire to talk to anybody about what he’s going through. Rather, what he appears to be longing for, all things considered, is to interact with people who are empathetic enough to understand that he’s thoroughly in his feelings, though without speaking to that reality directly.

And the line of this song which perhaps encapsulates all of that the best is at the conclusion of the chorus, with the vocalist telling the addressee that ‘he knows he got his problems’. Or viewed from a different angle, the character Mike Hranica is portraying doesn’t need anybody to tell him that he’s depressed or frustrated. Yet at the same time, that desire is apparently something not all of his associates can perceive.

So ultimately, we will conclude by saying that this piece captures the complexities of what it feels like sometimes to be depressed. That is to say that you may not want to talk about it but would still appreciate those in your life to be aware enough to understand what it is you’re going through.

The Devil Wears Prada, "Broken" Lyrics
Meaning of "Broken"

The Devil Wears Prada

The Devil Wears Prada is a metalcore crew from Dayton, a notable city found in the state of Ohio. Even if you never heard of this band, theirs is probably a name you’ve probably come across before. This is because The Devil Wears Prada is the title to a very-popular novel that came out in 2003. 

And with “Broken” being released on 13 September 2022, the group’s current membership is made up of the following names:

  • Mike Hranica
  • Kyle Sipress
  • Jeremy DePoyster
  • Mason Nagy
  • Jonathan Gering
  • Giuseppe Capolupo

The Devil Wears Prada has put out seven studio albums between 2006 to 2019. A couple of them topped Billboard’s Indie Albums chart, and one of those, 2011’s “Dead Throne”, also made it onto the top 10 of the Billboard 200. 

“Broken” is a single from the band’s eighth studio LP, a project titled “Color Decay”. And this outing is backed by Solid State Records, the label that also supported the band’s most-recent album, 2019’s “The Act”.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...