“Sexy and I Know It” by LMFAO

“Sexy and I Know It” features the vocalists reveling in their perceived ‘sexiness’. But at the same time it’s pretty clear, even from the title really, that there’s a comedic undertone to it all. And that is because, as explained by Redfoo, the meaning behind this piece is actually two-fold.

You can view the lyrics, alternate interprations and sheet music for LMFAO's Sexy and I Know It at Lyrics.org.

On one hand, even though the vocalists are portrayed as garnering a lot of external attention, what this is really about, once again according to Redfoo, is being confident in yourself. And yes, if nothing else, it is obvious that the vocalists are feeling themselves.

Yet secondly and to some degree contrastingly, this song is meant to make fun of people who are convinced that they are sexy but in the eyes of others actually aren’t. In that sense, it does read a lot like the vocalists are making fun of themselves. For instance, not every lady is bound to be turned on by a guy rocking’ “animal-print pants” and a “big afro”, nor a dude who walks into a bar like half naked. But again, the vocalists are confident in themselves. So it’s almost as if in a roundabout way what they are speaking to, in an amorous context, is the law of attraction.

LMFAO, "Sexy and I Know It" Lyrics


LMFAO, aka Laughing My Freaking A-s Off, was an EDM duo from Los Angeles that was active for a few years, from the late-aughts into the early 2010s. The acts consisted of a couple of hip-hop musicians in Sky Blu and Redfoo. To note, they are actually related, with Redfoo being the last-born son of industry tycoon Berry Gordy. As such he is only about a decade older than Sky Blu, who is his nephew, i.e. the son of another of Gordy’s children.

Despite such powerful parentage, LMFAO, as stated earlier, didn’t remain on the scene long, as Sky Blu and Redfoo opted to go their separate ways in 2012. And whereas it may be tempting to refer to them as a one-hit wonder, in reality they managed to drop two very big hits, both in 2011 and from their second (and final) LP, “Sorry for Party Rocking”. One of them is “Party Rock Anthem”, a song that achieved RIAA diamond status in 2018. And the other is “Sexy and I Know It”, which Interscope Records released on 16 September 2011.

Facts about “Sexy and I Know It”

Redfoo wrote and produced this song with Listenbee and Audiobot. The other co-writers of “Sexy and I Know It” are Erin Beck, 8ky and George Matthew Robertson.

And yes, this track did prove to a very, very big hit. For example, it was a true global-level success, in that it charted in over 30 countries. The United States and United Kingdom can be considered the two most important nations as far as American musicians are concerned. And in that regard, this song topped the Billboard Hot 100  – appearing on a whopping 9 US Billboard lists in total – in addition to reaching 5th place on the UK Singles Chart.

Moreover, “Sexy and I Know It” has gone multi-platinum in the US, UK and several other countries. Where it has performed most notably in that sense is in Australia. Here, the tune has thus far achieved duodecuple-platinum status (i.e. has gone 12x platinum).

Also, even though LMFAO is a relatively unknown act, they got to opportunity to render this song alongside Madonna at the Super Bowl Halftime Show in 2012. And as has been noted previously in this blog, the Super Bowl Halftime Show is pretty much the biggest stage a musician can grace in the United States.

It is important to mention that this song was also featured on a Pepsi commercial.

The music video to “Sexy and I Know It”, as directed by Mickey Finnegan, features a number of low-echelon celebrities. The only one amongst them who seems to have some degree of A list name recognition though is iconic adult-themed movie star Ron Jeremy.

Sexy and I Know It

LMFAO’s “Sorry for Party Rocking” Album

American duo, LMFAO released “Sorry for Party Rocking” as their second studio album. It shares the same title with one of its singles, “Sorry for Party Rocking”. The album was released on the 17th of June, 2011, becoming the duo’s final album before their announcement of an indefinite split in September of 2012.

American record label, Interscope Records, a subsidiary of Universal Music Group is the record label through which the album was released.

Four singles were released into the public domain for promotional purposes. They are as follows:

  • “Party Rock Anthem”
  • “Champagne Showers”
  • “Sexy and I Know It”
  • “Sorry for Party Rocking”

The album sold over 27,000 copies in the United States within its first week alone. It has recorded sales of over 1.4 million copies globally.

It peaked at No. 5 on the Billboard 200 in the US, No. 8 in the UK, No. 2 in New Zealand, Canada as well as Australia. It also appeared on top-10 charts in the following countries:

  • France – 6
  • Germany – 4
  • Greece – 9
  • Mexico – 8
  • Scotland – 7
  • South Africa – 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...