“Don’t You Worry Child” by Swedish House Mafia (ft. John Martin)

Swedish House Mafia’s “Don’t You Worry Child” is based on teenage love. There was a time in the singer’s life when he wallowed in the naivety of youth, feeling as if he was on top of the world. Moreover, that era was edified via a romance with a likeminded woman. But alas, said relationship did not last. 

You can view the lyrics, alternate interprations and sheet music for Swedish House Mafia's Don't You Worry Child at Lyrics.org.

So upon having his heart broken, the vocalist’s father instructed him ‘not to worry, child’. In other words, the future has more in store for him. Therefore, he shouldn’t get too bent out of shape due to this failed romance.

Meanwhile concerning the imagery of “the hill across the blue lake”, at the time Swedish House Mafia penned this tune, they were in an inspiring environment in Australia. So that wouldn’t be an actual scene from their childhood but rather a symbolic one.

"Don't You Worry Child" Lyrics

“Don’t You Worry Child” Facts

Primary Artist(s): Swedish House Mafia
Featured Artist(s): John Martin
Album/EP: “Until Now” 

Was “Don’t You Worry Child” a single release?

Yes. It was the final single from the album, “Until Now”. September the 14th of 2012 was the date it was released as such.

Credits and Awards/Honors

“Don’t You Worry Child” was written by the group in collaboration with Michel Zitron and John Martin Lindström. The song’s production credits are owned exclusively by Swedish House Mafia.

At the 2013 Grammy Awards, the song was nominated for the award, “Best Dance Recording”. It lost to “Bangarang” performed by Skrillex and Sirah. The following songs also got nominated for the same award:

  • Levels” performed by Avicii
  • Let’s Go” performed by Calvin Harris featuring Ne-Yo
  • “I Can’t Live Without You” performed by Al Walser

Other Accolades

By September of 2020, the song’s video had over 720 million YouTube views.

Chart Performance

  • US – 6
  • UK – 1
  • Turkey – 8
  • Switzerland – 7
  • Sweden – 1
  • Slovakia – 2
  • Scotland – 1
  • Portugal – 4
  • Norway – 2
  • New Zealand – 2
  • Netherlands – 5
  • Mexico – 3
  • Italy – 8
  • Ireland – 2
  • Hungary – 4
  • Greece – 6
  • Germany – 9
  • Finland – 4
  • Denmark – 2
  • Czech Republic – 8
  • Canada – 9
  • Brazil – 1
  • Belgium – 4
  • Austria – 5
  • Australia – 1

The “Until Now” Album

The house music group, Swedish House Mafia, released Don’t You Worry Child in 2012 as their sixth single. The song features vocals from Swedish musician John Martin. It is the seventh song on the tracklisting of their second compilation album, Until Now.  

Virgin Records, EMI, and Astralwerks released Until Now on October 22, 2012. The album received a generally low review and score from many music critics and reviewers upon its release. For example, Las Vegas Times and Montreal rated it as a 2.5 out of a 5-star album. The Guardian rated it as a 2 out of a 5-star album and Metacritic rated it as a 56% quality album. They also stated that the album was best when played on a live show rather than listening to it at home.

Swedish House Mafia produced the whole album with help from Knife Party, Ivan Gough, Feenixpawl, Alesso, and Third Party. Until Now topped the Billboard Top Dance Albums chart, the UK Compilation albums chart (OCC), and the Irish Compilation Albums (IRMA). In addition, it reached number 14 on the Billboard 200 chart and number 10 on the Australian Albums chart (ARIA). It has been certified gold in Australia (ARIA) and platinum in the UK (BPI) and Sweden (GLF).

Don't You Worry Child

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...