Midnight Oil

Midnight Oil, also known as “The Oils” is a rock band formed in 1972 in Sydney, Australia. The band’s popularity grew as a result of their politically charged lyrics.

The Oils’ original lineup consists of the following:

  • Rob Hirst
  • Peter Garrett
  • Martin Rotsey
  • Jim Moginie
  • Andrew James

The band became an international force to recon with in the mid-1980s after the release of their “Diesel and Dust” album. The said album topped the charts in Australia and produced the following hit singles:

  • “Beds Are Burning”
  • “The Dead Heart”

Since the release of their first album, “Midnight Oil” on the 1st of November, 1978 they have continued to produce music for decades.

The Oils have won the hearts of many with their commitment to environmental and social justice issues, often using their music as a tool to bring attention to these causes.

In 2002, they announced their plans of a disbandment and played their final show in 2005. However, they reunited in 2017 for a world tour (“The Great Circle” tour) and released a new album called “The Makarrata Project” in 2020.


The band has to their credit a tall list of accolades, including a nomination for the Grammy award “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” in 1991 and 1989 with the albums “Blue Sky Mining” and “Beds Are Burning” respectively.

“Beds Are Burning”

“Put Down That Weapon”

“Power and the Passion”


“Blue Sky Mine”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...