Alabama 3

Alabama 3 is a band from England, not the US state of Alabama.  In fact they often use the abbreviated moniker “A3” as there is already a band called Alabama who are actually from Alabama.

You can view the lyrics, alternate interprations and sheet music for Alabama 3's Woke Up This Morning at

The unique name of the group points to the overall colorfulness of its members.  Alabama 3 started off with the musicians listed below:

  • Rob Spragg (also known by the name Larry Love)
  • Jake Black (also called Wayne Love)

Jake Black passed away in 2019. And as of 2020 the other members of the band, include the following:

  • Orlando Harrison
  • Mark Sams
  • Steve Finnerty
  • Jonny Delafons
  • Greg Fleming
  • Be Atwell
  • Nick Reynolds
  • Aurora Dawn

Alabama 3’s music catalog dates back to 1996. The track they are best known for is a 1997 tune entitled “Woke Up This Morning“. Despite not being a hit in and of itself, it has made its way solidly into pop culture, as it was used as the opening song for the very-popular HBO series, “The Sopranos”. And interesting to note is that Queensbridge rapper Nas also sampled said track on one of his biggest hits, “Got Ur Self A…” (2001).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...