Arctic Monkeys

The Arctic Monkeys are an English band who had been especially successful during the early part of the 21st century. And when we say especially successful, we mean along the lines of winning the following awards between 2006 and 2015:

You can view the lyrics, alternate interprations and sheet music for Arctic Monkeys's Do I Wanna Know? at
  • Seven Brit Awards
  • An Ivor Novello Award
  • A Mercury Prize
  • 20 NME Awards

And they also received five Grammy nominations between 2007 and 2019.

Indeed the Arctic Monkeys made a significant impact on the music industry from the onset, as their debut album, “Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not” (2006), broke a major record in the UK. And that is it sold faster than any other debut album in British history.

Meanwhile, the Arctic Monkeys are a group that only formed as recently as 2002.  As of 2020, the lineup of the band consists of the following:

  • Alex Turner (frontman)
  • Jamie Cook (guitar)
  • Matt Helders (drums)
  • Nick O’Malley (bass) 

And with the exception of O’Malley, who joined in 2006, they have all been members of the band from the beginning.

Interesting to note is that the Arctic Monkeys formerly had beef with another music group from the UK, Radiohead, who were apparently intimidated by their success.

Some notable hits:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...