“Breaking These Bones” by The Offspring

Now getting midway into the playlist of “Let the Bad Times Roll” we can see, as implied by the project’s title, that depression is one of the subthemes of the album, if not the main theme. And on this track (“Breaking These Bones”) the case the singer is suffering from has been caused by the absence of the addressee.

The nature of his relationship with this individual is not expounded upon. Nor is it specified whether this person is alive or dead. But as a result of him or her not being around, the vocalist is afflicted with a “grief” so heavy that the “weight” of it is ‘breaking his bones’. Of course that is an analogy of how terribly he is feeling inside. And how it is manifested in the real world is by the narrator for instance isolating himself in his room, in complete darkness, meditating on “better days” past alongside the addressee. Moreover the vocalist has even blocked his calls, and we can presume has perhaps gone offline also.

So this situation is very serious for him personally. And as the song begins so does it end, with the singer lamenting the fact that this loved one is no longer a part of his life.

"Breaking These Bones" Lyrics

Writing and Production Credits of “Breaking These Bones”

“Breaking These Bones” was penned by Bryan Keith ‘Dexter’ Holland. Its production credits are also attributed to Bob Rock.

Release Date

The Offspring released “Breaking These Bones” along with its album to the public on 16th April, 2021.

Album Details

“Breaking These Bones” is a part of the band’s “Let the Bad Times Roll” album.  

"Breaking These Bones"

“Let The Bad Times Roll”

This was the tenth album The Offspring released after a wait of nine years. Prior to this, their last album was “Days Go By”, which came out in 2012.

Factors like the Coronavirus pandemic, and the search for a new label for their albums caused the delay of the release of “Let The Bad Times Roll”, which eventually came out on 16th April, 2021.

A total of 3 singles were released by the band to market this tenth album of theirs. And these songs are as follows:

  • “Coming for You” (January, 2021)
  • “Let the Bad Times Roll” (February, 2021)
  • “We Never Have Sex Anymore” (April, 2021)

All tracks over 33 minute long album was composed by The Offspring’s own Dexter Holland with the exception of the instrumental “In the Hall of the Mountain King”. 

The production of the album was handled by a Canadian record producer called Bob Rock.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...