“Get Together” by David Guetta

This is a love song with a strong amorous undertone. Perhaps we can even call it a one-night stand song or even more accurately an invitation to lovemaking.

The setting, considering that this is a dance track and all, is conceivably a nightclub or someplace like that. We get this notion based on the intro, in which the singer suggests that this may be the only time she and the addressee see each other. 

But more to the point is that said addressee is a romantic interest of hers. And the lyrics serve two primary purposes. First is to let this person know that she is strongly attracted to him. Or as the title puts it, she desires to “get together”. 

And secondly, she is encouraging him to make a move. For as put forth earlier, she is particularly intrigued by the prospect of getting with him this very night. And the vocalist feels as if she has given him ample signs to let him know that she is ready and willing. And beyond that she is basically fantasizing about, indeed looking forward to making love with him.

And, that’s just about it. There doesn’t appear to be any type of deep meaning behind this song, except perhaps encouraging dudes in general not to be afraid to step to a lady whom they are getting vibes from. 

But as for the vocalist herself, she is “too hot”, or aroused as some people would say. And who she particularly has the hots for is the addressee. So now it’s like she wants to get it on.

"Get Together' Lyrics

Facts about “Get Together”

As at the release of this track on 7 May 2021, the plan is to have it remixed by musicians from various parts of the world, apparently in some type of show of global solidarity. And as far as David Guetta’s own take on the project, he’s looking forward to seeing how diverse artists ‘from completely different cultures’ will be able to flip his song “by adding their own interpretation”. 

And specifically, the countries listed as part of this undertaking are Bulgaria, China, India, Uzbekistan and Nepal.

David has issued this track in collaboration with a Danish company known as the Carlsberg Group and more specifically one of their products called Tuborg beer. And his doing so is part of an overall project known as the Tuborg Open. 

Previous artists who have participated in this undertaking, which was initiated in 2017, include The Chainsmokers, Diplo and Major Lazer.

This song was released alongside a lyric video which utilizes a visual technology known as augmented reality.

This standalone single was produced by David alongside Will Grands. And the pair also co-wrote the song with the following:

  • Jenson Vaughan
  • Rani
  • Nikki Flores
  • Ruthy Raba
  • Abby-Lynn Keen 

Additionally Abby-Lynn serves as the track’s vocalist.

This track was made public by Parlophone Records on 7 May 2021.

David Guetta

David Guetta is a DJ/producer who has proven especially popular in France and Europe in general, though he has been making some noise stateside also. His most successful studio album to date is 2011’s “Nothing but the Beat”, which sold over 3,000,000 copies worldwide and peaked at 5th place on the Billboard 200. 

And like other globally-recognized DJs of his caliber, Guetta has had the opportunity to work with some of the most-renowned musicians in the world. This includes the likes of:

  • David Bowie (2003)
  • Kelly Rowland (2009)
  • Akon (2009)
  • Rihanna (2010)
  • Snoop Dogg (2011)
  • Justin Bieber (2017)
  • J Balvin (2018)
  • Sia (with whom he has had quite a few collaborations)

Of course Guetta’s livelihood was affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, as such DJs tend to make their living entertaining large crowds. But what he really anticipates once the world does reopen is ‘people partying like never before’ (:

Get Together

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like...