“BLOW” by Ed Sheeran, Chris Stapleton & Bruno Mars

Ed Sheeran, Chris Stapleton and Bruno Mars’ “Blow” is based on the artists expressing strong interest in ladies whom they have become enamored with from a romantic and more-specifically sensual perspective. However, they keep this perspective relatively classy (compared to other contemporary songs dealing with the same subject matter) throughout.

You can view the lyrics, alternate interprations and sheet music for Bruno Mars's BLOW at Lyrics.org.

The title is apparently derived from a line in the chorus which reads “let me blow your mind”. If someone says they want to “blow your mind”, that is a colloquial phrase meaning they desire to do something unexpected to really excite you. So basically, what the homeys are stating is their intent to show these ladies an unforgettably-good time.

And as alluded to earlier, this includes bedroom adventure. But it also points to having a good time in general.  For instance in his verse, Bruno Mars tries to lure his romantic interest with the prospect of “white lines in a limousine”. The limousine, of course, is an indication of his wealth. While the “white lines”, as many of us know, is actually a reference to cocaine. And the word “blow”, as in the title of this song, is also an informal synonym (as in slang word) for cocaine. 

So the title of this song may have a double meaning. Foremost is based on the intent of the artists to ‘blow the minds’ of the women they are trying to hook up with. And secondly it can possibly serve as a shoutout to “blow”, i.e. cocaine.

Lyrics of "BLOW"

Writers of “BLOW”

Including the song’s primary artists, a total of eight people penned this song. They are:

  • Bard McNamee
  • Brody Brown
  • Bruno Mars
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Ed Sheeran
  • Frank Rogers
  • Greg McKee
  • J.T. Cure

Bruno Mars’ instrumental role in this song’s creation

In addition to co-writing “BLOW”, Mars also handled its entire production. Furthermore, he played the drums and guitar and on this track.

Release Date

On July 5, 2019, Atlantic Records released “BLOW”. It is officially the 15th track on Ed Sheeran’s 2019 collaborative album which goes by the title No.6 Collaborations Project.

Was “Blow” released as a single?

Yes. It came out as the 5th single from Sheeran’s No.6 Collaborations Project. Other notable singles from No.6 Collaborations Project include:

FYI, “BLOW” marked Sheeran’s first time working alongside Chris Stapleton. It also marked Sheeran’s first collaboration with Bruno Mars.

1 Response

  1. Deborah Dolan says:

    The song is very different from Bruno’s All I Ask, but I like it alot! It reminds me of Heavy Metal (which I’ve never beenna fan of) but it has a good beat and you can’t help but move to it! Good job guys!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...