“Lips Are Movin'” by Meghan Trainor

Meghan, in this song, seems to suggest that whatever her partner opens his mouth to say is a lie, because she has lost every bit of trust in him. She is at a point where she sees this person as a pathological liar, due to varying incidents where she has been lied to.

In the subsequent verses of the song, Meghan expresses how she is fed up with her partner’s lies and external affairs. As a matter of fact, she is no longer interested in bearing with him, thus she dumps him and tells him to find someone else to lie to. Her decision to leave is so firm because even if her partner tries to appease her with expensive gifts, she won’t budge since she can still sense that he is having another affair.

Inspiration behind “Lips are Movin'”

Meghan Trainor revealing the inspiration behind the song in a commentary on Spotify has said that it is actually about a colleague of hers who lied to her several times. She chose to liken his antics to the way some boys lie to girls in relationships so that other people could relate to the situation.

“Lips Are Movin’” Facts

  • Primary Singer(s): Meghan Trainor
  • Writing Team: Meghan and Kevin Kadish
  • Production: Kadish
  • Release Month and Year: October, 2014
  • Album: Meghan Trainor’s “Title”

Is “Lips Are Movin'” a pop song?

Absolutely! Furthermore, it can also be said to fall into the category of the following genres:

  • Doo-wop
  • R&B

A Top 10 Hit

This song was so successful that it made it into the top 10 sections of many a singles charts around the globe. Examples include:

  • United States: 4
  • United Kingdom: 2


Some popular covers of this Meghan Trainor hit include:

  • Alexi Blue in 2014
  • Jessica Agee in 2015
  • Leo in 2015

Was “Lips Are Movin’” released as a single?

This was the second track to be released from the album entitled “Title” with support from Epic Records. Other notable singles birthed by “Title” are as follows:


Many critics have argued that the song is similar to the singer’s debut single titled “All About That Bass”. Said song also appears on her “Title” album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like...