Meaning of “Electricity” by Silk City and Dua Lipa

“Electricity” is a love song recorded and performed by the British-American musical duo or rather supergroup Silk City and English singer Dua Lipa. In the lyrics of this track, the narrator and singer (Dua Lipa) directly addresses her lover telling him how much she loves and adores him. She talks about the feeling she gets from her lover being so strong and powerful that even electricity can’t compare to it.

In the song’s pre-chorus, she alludes to her lover not treating himself well. Owing to that, she’d want to care for him, love him “differently” and give him “electricity”.

It is in the song’s actual chorus that the lyrics become even more profound. Here, among other very deep things, Lipa sings about stopping the world for him and how she’d never let the feeling she has for him die. She concludes the chorus by saying probably the most profound and powerful line of the song:  “This love has no ceiling”.

"Electricity" lyrics

Who are Silk City?

Silk City is a musical duo (a musical supergroup) made up of British DJ/musician/music producer Mark Ronson and American DJ/record producer Diplo. The duo was formed by both artists in 2018. They released their first single titled “Only Can Get Better” in May 2018.

Facts about “Electricity”

  • “Electricity” was written by a total of 10 songwriters, including Dua Lipa and Silk City (Mark Ronson and Diplo).
  • Silk City produced this track alongside 4 other music producers, including Jr Blender and Alex Metric.
  • The song was released on September 7, 2018. Addition to being the fourth single to be released by Silk City in 2018, it’s also the duo’s breakout single.
  • “Electricity” marked the first time all three artists (Lipa, Diplo and Ronson) worked together.
  • The track performed fairly well on the charts. For example, on the UK Singles Chart, it reached number 10. On the US Billboard Hot 100, it currently is at number 96.
  • Despite the track being a collaboration between Silk City and Dua Lipa, some often mistake the track to be by the latter alone.
  • None of the members of Silk City provides vocals on this track. All the vocals are performed by Dua Lipa.


Does “Electricity” have an official music video?

Yes, it does. The song’s music video was released on the very day the song itself came out.


On which album does “Electricity” appear?

The song appears on the complete edition of the debut album of Dua Lipa titled Dua Lipa: The Complete Edition. It will also appear on the debut EP or album of Silk City.

1 Response

  1. saad pirzada says:

    electricity is best song

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like...