“Work from Home” by Fifth Harmony (ft. Ty Dolla Sign)

In this track, the narrator primarily tells their significant other to spend more time with them intimately instead of going to work all the time. The narrator asks their partner to consider their intimate moments as a vacation from their busy schedules.  They liken this affair to work, but this time done from the comfort of their home with their bodies.

The writer sticks to the work theme and uses several terms to describe the state of their relationship. Apparently, this partner works on night-shifts, thus leaving the partner lonely when they need them most. After growing tired of this trend, the writer decides to send nude pictures while her partner is at work or worse, convince him not to go to his job at all. Her defense is that her man should put in more effort into their relationship and not let his work interrupt their intimacy.

Fifth Harmony’s Dinah revealed to Billboard that this song was initially titled “Work“; however, after Rihanna released her song of the same title a month ahead, they added ‘from home’ to their title.


  • Pop
  • R&B

Chart Performance

  • United States: 4
  • United Kingdom: 2


  • American Music Awards (2016)
  • MTV Video Music Awards (2016)
  • Kids Choice Awards (2017)

Fifth Harmony’s “7/27” Album

After their brilliant performance with their debut album, Reflection, the American girl music group Fifth Harmony commercially released their second studio album, 7/27, through Epic Records and Syco Music on the 27th of May, 2016. 

Fifth Harmony titled the album 7/27 in honor of the day the group was formed on the American talent show X-Factor in 2012. Thus, 7/27 means July 27, 2012. The group has also stated that the album contained personal and hidden contents; hence, they chose a title to portray their career path.

The album’s concept speaks on women’s empowerment as well as love for one another. 7/27 is the last album of the group to feature Cuban-American singer Camila Cabello, who left Fifth Harmony a few months after the album’s release to start a solo music career.

The album features top hip-hop and R&B musicians and songwriters, including:

  • Fetty Wapp
  • Marcus Lomax
  • Jordan Johnson
  • Stefan Johnson
  • Ty Dolla Sign
  • Missy Elliott

The group worked with many record producers and embarked on their second concert tour in 2016, dubbed The 7/27 Tour, to help promote the album. 

7/27 topped the Spanish Albums chart (PROMUSICAE), Canadian albums, and Brazilian albums. It also became the group’s highest-ranked album on the Billboard 200 chart when it debuted at number 4 in 2016. It was second on the weekly Japan International Albums chart (Oricon) and third on the UK albums chart (OCC).

In addition, the album was also ranked in the top 100 albums of several European, American, and Asian countries in 2016. It has received triple-platinum certification from Brazil (Pro-Música Brasil), a platinum certification from RIAA (USA), and a silver certification from BPI (UK). Billboard reports that the album has sold over 1.6 million copies globally. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like...