Ariana Grande’s “Positions” Album

Ariana Grande’s sixth studio album, Positions was released by Republic Records on October 30, 2020. The album generally incorporates pop, midtempo R & B, and trap music, based on themes of love and sex. It features guest vocals from the following artitsts:

  • Ty Dolla Sign
  • Doja Cat
  • The Weeknd

Ariana worked with several producers on this album including the likes of London on da Track, Scott Storch and The Rascals.

The singer in a tweet revealed that the first track written for the album was Shut Up. The song references her first biggest hit song, 7 Rings.

The album’s second single 34+35 references the intimate position known as 69. Grande has mentioned that it started as a complete joke which she began writing in 2019. The third verse is said to have been written within 30 minutes following the night California was hit by a magnitude 4.5 earthquake.

The song Motive which features Doja Cat, has a similar theme to her Charlie’s Angels soundtrack How I Look on You. The song Just Like Magic is also quite parallel to 7 Rings. The singer has said that all the lyrics for Off the Table were written by herself and The Weeknd. She has also revealed that the song was inspired by her relationship with Dalton Gomez.

The titular song, Positions speaks about her increasing roles in her career and private life, while playing with the idea of different sex positions.

The next track, Obvious captures the singer’s growth over the years while the final track on the album, POV contains several references to several of her previously written breakup songs including Ghostin.

Tracks on “Positions”

In all, there are 14 tracks on “Positions”. They are as follows:

  1. “West Side”
  2. “Six Thirty”
  3. “Shut Up”
  4. “Safety Net”
  5. “POV”
  6. “Positions”
  7. “Off the Table”
  8. “Obvious”
  9. “Nasty”
  10. “My Hair”
  11. “Motive”
  12. “Love Language”
  13. “Just like Magic”
  14. “34+35”

1 Response

  1. Valerie Wilson says:

    I like the album

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like...