“Love at First Sight” by Kylie Minogue

This song’s title (“Love at First Sight”) is a phrase that most of us are likely familiar with. And what it points to is this concept of falling in love with someone after only seeing them once, i.e. “at first sight”. 

And such an experience is what the singer is able to celebrate, having been instantly and unexpectedly smitten. Indeed she has been so effectively pierced by Cupid’s arrow that her usually melancholy disposition has become one of joy, and thoughts of giving up on romance have been transformed to a newfound hope in it.

Interesting to note is that the addressee is also someone she has fallen in love with after ‘hearing’ him. Also, Kylie notes that this is in fact a musician she’s talking about. So this isn’t a case of homegirl, say walking down the street and randomly coming across someone whose looks or what have you proceed to steal her heart. Rather, this piece reads more like Roberta Flack’s 1973 classic Killing Me Softly with His Song, i.e. Minogue being stricken by both the addressee’s looks but primarily even by his sound.

Kylie Minogue, "Love at First Sight" Lyrics

Was “Love at First Sight” a single release?

Yes. It was a single from the singer’s 8th studio album, “Fever”. Kylie and her managed dropped it as such on June 10th, 2002.

Writing and Production

It was penned by Kylie Minogue with assistance from:

  • Richard Stannard
  • Julian Gallagher
  • Ash Howes               
  • Martin Harrington

The production of this song was helmed by co-writer Gallagher, with assistance from another co-writer of the song, Stannard.


  • Dance-pop
  • Nu-disco


The song was nominated for the award of “Best Dance Recording” in 2003. It was defeated by Dirty Vegas’ “Days Go By”. The songs below also competed and lost the fight for the aforementioned Grammy Award:

 It should be noted that “Love at First Sight” earned Kylie her first ever Grammy nomination.

Chart Performance

  • US (23)
  • UK (2)
  • Spain (7)
  • Scotland (2)
  • Romania (3)
  • Poland (6)
  • New Zealand (9)
  • Italy (8)
  • Ireland (7)
  • Hungary (6)
  • Greece (1)
  • Denmark (6)
  • Czech Republic (7)
  • Canada (5)
  • Belgium Dance (1)
  • Australian Dance (1)
Love at First Sight

Kylie Minogue’s “Fever” Album

Parlophone records released Fever globally on October 1, 2001. Various musicians, songwriters, and producers, including Rob Davis, Julian Gallagher and Tom Nichols worked with Kylie on this album.

Songs on the album were inspired by disco, dance-pop, euro-pop, synth-pop, and club music genres.

Fever is one of the most commercially successful and internationally recognized album of Kylie Minogue. It topped the album charts of Germany, the UK, Australia, Ireland, and Austria.

On the Billboard 200, it was equally successful. Here, it managed to hit position 3. It has received numerous platinum, gold, and diamond certifications across Europe.

The album was nominated in many categories at the 2002 Brit Awards. It won the Best International Album at the event. Come into My Worldthe last single on the album, actually won a Grammy.

The album has sold over 6 million copies so far. A report from IFPI ranked the album amongst the highest-selling albums in 2002. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like...